News 28 Apr 2024

Perfect Queensland Raceway ASBK secured by Jones

Stauffer and Herfoss complete the podium at round three.

Image: Foremost Media.

Three-time champion Mike Jones has secured a perfect weekend at Queensland Raceway’s third round of the 2024 Mi-bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), the Yamaha Racing Team entry charging to a pair of commanding race wins.

Race one saw Penrite Racing SBK’s Max Stauffer hit the lead at turn one with Jones in tow, although Glenn Allerton (GT Racing) and Troy Herfoss (DesmoSport Ducati) were quick movers on lap one to be positioned in second and third respectively.

Jones was able to make his way back by the duo and set his sights on leader Stauffer, eventually making a deep pass for the lead on lap seven. That was the last they saw of the multi-time champion as he charged to a convincing 2.443s, setting a new Superbike race lap record of 1m7.434s in the process.

Stauffer hung on for second – a career-best result for the youthful talent – while championship leader Josh Waters (McMartin Racing) was able to pip Herfoss at the line for third.

Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) was fifth ahead of Allerton, as the top 10 was completed by Broc Pearson (DesmoSport Ducati), Anthony West (Addicted to Track), Arthur Sissis (Stop & Seal Racing), and Bryan Staring (MotoGo Yamaha Racing).

Race two was largely uneventful as Stauffer once again led the field from turn one, although this time around Jones made quick work of the 20-year-old to position himself at the top of the leaderboard.

Stauffer eventually came under siege by reigning champion Herfoss before ultimately succumbing to his pressure, the number one also making a late attack at Jones, but it was too late as the factory Yamaha entry completed a perfect weekend ahead of Herfoss and Stauffer.

Waters was fourth ahead of Sissis, as the top 10 was made up of Halliday, Allerton, Staring, Pearson, and Cameron Dunker (Penrite Racing SBK). Overall, Jones was joined on the podium by Stauffer and Herfoss, while Waters still leads the standings with a 29.5-point advantage.

The ASBK series will now head into an extended break before returning on 12 July at Morgan Park in Queensland.

Detailed results