Features 14 Nov 2013

Fan Guide: 2013 ASC and AFX-SBK Rd6 Sydney Motorsport Park

Inaugural Australasian Superbike Championship scheduled alongside major FX support classes.

The inaugural Australasian Superbike Championship (ASC) will be staged this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park, to be contested on 15-16 November.

A class field of 16 confirmed riders will assemble for the one-off championship event, which will set the tone for a full season in 2014 under the ASC banner (click here for details).

After clinching fourth in the Australian FX-Superbike Championship and Australian Prostock Championship already this season, Matt Walters (Kawasaki) will spearhead the ASC grid, which will be absent of Yamaha Racing Team trio Broc Parkes, Kevin Curtain and Rick Olson.

Challenging Walters will be a host of high quality privateers, including fellow Kawasaki runners Dustin Goldsmith, Sean Condon and veteran Phil Lovett. Chris Trounson (Honda) and Paul Byrne (Suzuki) are two other FX-regulars certain to feature on Saturday.

Trinder Aprilia Racing teammates Chris Seaton and Craig Trinder are also poised to be in the mix, as will former FX champion Craig McMartin on his immaculate 1199 Panigale.

Two returning faces for the ASC event will be Yamaha-mounted brothers Glenn And Jason Cullen aboard their YZF-R1s.

The ASC championship will run alongside the two-day final round of the 2013 Australian FX-Superbike Championships’ major support classes series finale. The FX-Superbike category completed its sixth and final round alongside round five last month, with Parkes crowned the winner.

Yamaha’s factory outfit will be on track as the FX-600 series goes down to the wire between Olson and Cru Halliday, and with Curtain in Formula Oz.

The event features a two-day schedule, with practice and qualifying on Friday, plus all racing on Saturday across all categories.

Live streaming of the action will be available on CycleOnline.com.au throughout Saturday’s action.

Matt Walters will be on track at this weekend's ASC event in Sydney. Image: Keith Muir.

Matt Walters will be on track at this weekend’s ASC event in Sydney. Image: Keith Muir.

Circuit location

Brabham Drive, Eastern Creek, NSW

Circuit facts

Length: 3.93 kilometres
Turns: 12
Superbike lap record: 1m31.852, Rick Olson (Yamaha)
FX-600 lap record: 1m32.727, Rick Olson (Yamaha)

Event entry

Children (16 and under): TBA
General Admission (Friday or Saturday): TBA
General Admission two-day: TBA




Entry list

Australasian Superbike Championship riders:
3. Matthew Walters
5. Dustin Goldsmith
10. Paul Byrne
12. Glenn Cullen
14. Jason Cullen
14a. Michael McMillan
17. Craig Trinder
19. Phil Lovett
21. Craig McMartin
25. Michael McLinden
26. Sean Condon
32. Chris Seaton
45. Braith Pejkovic
49. Albie Wheeler
62. Chris Trounson
67. Glynn Thomas

2013 AFX-SBK/ASC calendar

Rd1 – 1-3 March – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
Rd2 – 5-7 April – Winton Motor Raceway, VIC
Rd3 – 3-5 May – Wakefield Park Raceway, NSW
Rd4 – 23-25 August – Queensland Raceway, QLD
Rd5/6 (FX only) – 4-6 October – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
Rd6 (FX supports)/ASC – 15-16 October – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW